SACSCOC Decennial Reaffirmation



In America, regional accreditation is a cornerstone of higher education and ensures that students receive a quality education from academic institutions that pursue excellence in every facet of their educational experience. Freed-Hardeman University (FHU) is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools--Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). The mission of SACSOC is to assure the educational quality and improve the effectiveness of its member institutions. To that end, SACSCOC aspires to six core values:

  1. Integrity

  2. Peer Review / Self-regulation

  3. Student Learning

  4. Continuous Quality Improvement

  5. Accountability

  6. Transparency


The SACSCOC membership has adopted The Principles of Accreditation, which is comprised of the standards used to guide and direct academic institutions in their pursuit of excellence. Every ten years, member institutions are reviewed by their peers to ensure adherence to these standards. Freed-Hardeman will engage in her decennial reaffirmation in 2021. The reaffirmation process will require the cooperation and collaboration of the entire Freed-Hardeman family to share our mission and strengths with our peers. Our journey in reaffirming our accreditation will begin with the commencement of the Fall 2018 semester.

The University's Decennial Reaffirmation Leadership Team (Leadership Team) is composed of the following members:

  • Mr. David Shannon, President

  • Dr. Dwayne Wilson, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

  • Dr. Charles Vires, Provost and Vice President for Academics

  • Dr. Vicki Johnson, Associate Vice President for Academics

  • Dr. Margaret Payne, Professor; A-Team Chair

  • Mr. A.B. White, Director of Institutional Effectiveness; SACSCOC Liaison; A-Team Assistant Chair


The following is a list of significant milestones identified in the reaffirmation timeline:

Reaffirmation Kick Off -- Fall Convocation Address by Dr. John Sites 

August 2018

Quality Enhancement Plan Topic Selection

May 2019

Compliance Certification Report Due to SACSCOC

September 2020

Quality Enhancement Plan Due to SACSCOC

September 2020

SACSCOC On-Site Visit

April 2021

SACSCOC Board of Trustees Review of Findings

December 2021


In support of the University's upcoming reaffirmation, the Leadership Team has formed the Decennial Reaffirmation A-Team to guide and direct the process under their leadership. The following faculty and staff have been asked to serve in this role:

  • Dr. Margaret Payne, Chair

  • Mr. A.B. White, Assistant Chair

  • Dr. Justin Rogers

  • Dr. Matt Vega



A-Team Updates


The following are the latest updates from the A-Team:





Summer 2018 Update

Over the summer of 2018, members of the Leadership Team and the A-Team were selected for service. In addition, Dr. Rachel Salmon agreed to serve as the QEP Topic Selection chair. A timeline was developed by the Leadership Team that will be used to govern the reaffirmation process. The A-Team reviewed the newly-published 2018 Principles of Accreditation and finalized plans to administer the development of narratives for the Compliance Report. In addition, a style guide was created in support of those faculty and staff who will be writing the narratives. Finally, webpages were created to communicate with University stakeholders as we advance through the reaffirmation process.




Contact Information


Dr. Margaret Payne, Ph.D.
A-Team Chair

TL 101A

Mr. A.B. White
A-Team Assistant Chair


Dr. Justin Rogers, Ph.D.
A-Team Member

GC 102A

Dr. Matt Vega, J.D.
A-Team Member

BK 257