About Us

The Bobbie Solley Center for Excellence in Teaching (BSCET) is supported by input from experienced professionals who are working in the field of education. Utilizing the mantra, “Reaching Students, Empowering Teachers, Transforming Instruction”, the center’s mission is to develop teacher and school leaders committed to making a positive impact on student learning and fostering high student academic achievement for diverse student populations. The BSCET Board of Directors and Advisory Council provide relevant insight to the needs of public and private educators from across the state and beyond to fuel the work of the center. 


Board of Directors

Kim Chalmers
Former Educator

Dr. Bobbie Solley
Retired Educator

Troy Kilzer, II
Director, Chester County Schools; Henderson, TN

Dr. Clint Pulse
Director of Academics, Columbia Academy; Columbia, TN

Dr. Sharen Cypress
Dean of the College of Education & Behavioral Sciences; Freed-Hardeman University

Dr. Amy Downey
Department Chair;College of Education & Behavioral Sciences; Freed-Hardeman University

Sarah Hibbett
Director of the BSCET


Advisory Council Members

Mitzi Baker
RTI2 Supervisor and VPK Supervisor

Dr. Mark Benton
President of Jackson Christian School; Jackson, TN

Paden Buckley
Principal; Caywood Elementary School; Lexington, TN

Dr. Damon Cathey
Executive Principal Haywood Elementary; Metro Nashville Public Schools

Dr. Ricky Catlett
Deputy Superintendent of Operations, Business, and Finance; Jackson-Madison County Schools; Jackson, TN

Polly Cauthen
Principal; Madison Middle School; Metro Nashville Public Schools; Nashville, TN

Dr. Josie Currie
Principal; West Junior High; Fayette County Schools; Somerville, TN

Ashley Estes
Instructor; College of Education; Freed-Hardeman University

Abbie Frans
Teacher, Middle Tennessee Christian School; Murfreesboro, TN

Angelia Haltom
Assistant Principal; Chester County High School; Henderson, TN

Taurin Hardy
Shelby County Schools

Dr. Showen Herring
Assistant Professor; Director of Administration & Supervision Programs; Bucy Center of Freed-Hardeman University; Memphis, TN

Andrew Johnson
Teacher, Chester County High School; Henderson, TN

Tommie Kirk
Principal; Chester County High School; Henderson, TN

Melanie Lynch
Shelby County Schools

Steve Maclin
6-12 Instructional Supervisor; Tipton County Schools; Covington, TN

Patrice R. Martin
Director of Priority Schools, Jackson- Madison County Schools, Tennessee

Dr. Steven Marise
Instructional Technology, Testing, and Safety Coordinator; Chester County Schools; Henderson, TN

Sarah Mercer
Assistant Principal, A.L. Lotts Elementary School Knox County, Tennessee

Kim Murphy
3rd grade teacher, East Chester Elementary; Henderson, TN

Christopher Newson
Shelby County Schools

Christie Pennington
Teacher; Math Instructional Coach; Chester County Junior High; Henderson, TN

Brittany Pittman
Director of Virtual Education; Haywood County Schools; Brownsville, TN

Rebecca Reed
National Board Certified Teacher; 8th grade Lead Science Teacher; White Station Middle School; Shelby County Schools; Memphis, TN

Molly Risley
Bramblett Group

Holly Rowsey
Director of Center for Instructional Innovation and Distance Learning; Freed-Hardeman University

Leigh Anne Sanderson
Human Resource Director/Professional Development Coordinator; Marshall County Schools; Holly Springs, MS

Michelle Shrader
Secondary Teacher, Columbia Academy; Columbia, TN

Teresa Thomas
Shelby County Schools

Veda Turner
Shelby County Schools

Robert Uhrman
National Board Certified Teacher; English 10, 11, & AP Language Arts; East High School; Shelby County Schools; Memphis, TN

Lynda Walters
Federal Programs Director; McNairy County Schools; Selmer, TN

Becky Welch
2nd grade teacher, East Chester Elementary; Chester County Schools; Henderson, TN