The following scholarships are awarded annually as support to Merit Awards and do not stack on top of Merit awards. All Education students are automatically considered for these Endowed Scholarships; no additional scholarship application is required.

The H.A. AND LOUISE DIXON SCHOLARSHIP was established by Sister Dixon in memory of her husband to benefit students who are working toward certification as elementary or secondary teachers.

The SCHOOL OF EDUCATION FACULTY MINORITY SCHOLARSHIP was established by faculty members of the Freed-Hardeman University School of Education to provide financial assistance to minority students who are preparing to become teachers.

The LORA N. LAYCOOK SCHOLARSHIP is to be awarded annually to a woman who plans to teach in elementary education, who may have need, and who has promise as a teacher.

The G.L. AND RUBY MANN SCHOLARSHIP FUND was established by Mr. and Mrs. G. L. Mann of Hamilton, Alabama, for students in the School of Education who plan to teach school in a mission setting.

The JOY J. SIMON MCDANIEL MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP was established by her husband, Henry A. McDaniel, Jr., and their children. The recipient is to be a future teacher in early childhood education.

The R. MARSE AND JOSEPHINE McPEAKE SCHOLARSHIP is to be awarded to a teaching major who has financial need and promise as a teacher.

The SHARON S. NICHOLS MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP was established by members of the Student National Education Association and friends in her memory. It is awarded to a senior elementary and early childhood education major.

The TOMMY AND JOANNE SNEED SCHOLARSHIP, created in memory of Tommy by his wife, Joanne, is to be awarded to an elementary education major who exhibits scholarship, academic promise, and need.

The WILLIAM EDWARD SOUTH MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP was established by his daughter, Mrs. Celia S. Hissong. The recipient is to be a male in the field of education.

The N. J. AND NINA STANFORD SCHOLARSHIP is preferably for a special education major.

The ROBERT L. STOBAUGH SCHOLARSHIP is offered in memory of Mr. Stobaugh by the Gulfport Church of Christ. Mr. Stobaugh is the father of Mrs. Kay DeLay, faculty member at Freed-Hardeman University.

The DR. J. WALKER AND LOUISE C. WHITTLE ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP, established by them, their family and friends, is annually awarded to a full-time student of promise majoring in an area of education.