Graduate Studies in Education

We offer well-designed, challenging, and highly successful educational programs that can help you meet your professional and personal goals. The programs in the Graduate Studies in Education are accredited and have a reputation of producing competent professionals in the field of education. Graduate courses are offered 100 percent online, with the option to attend some classes in person in Henderson or in Memphis.

Dr. Sharen L. Cypress, Ed.D.
Dean, College of Education and Behavioral Sciences

731-989-6986
scypress@fhu.edu

 

QuickFacts-Education-01

QuickFacts-Education-02

QuickFacts-Education-03

 

 

FHUmemphis_bottom

Memphis Program

As a Christian university, Freed-Hardeman offers high-quality secular programs within a Christian environment. These are student-centered programs intended to assist graduate students to achieve their personal and professional goals in a timely manner. Competent and caring advisors are assigned to each student to assist in program planning and other areas of need. Flexible scheduling, competitive tuition rates, strong programs, and values based coursework characterize this graduate program.

 

 

Pursuing Your Higher Education Goals

The Dean of the College of Education and Behavioral Sciences invites you to look into the graduate education programs. Hear testimonials from students who have successfully earned their graduate degrees.

Learn more about our Graduate Education programs below.

 

 

Teaching (M.A.T.)

Special Education (M.A.T.)

Curriculum and Instruction (M.Ed.)

Instructional Leadership, Concentration in Administration & Supervision (M.Ed.)

LITERACY WITH EMPHASIS IN ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE (M.ED.)

School Counseling (M.S.)

EDUCATION SPECIALIST (ED.S.)

DOCTOR OF EDUCATION (ED.D.)

 

 

Education Faculty and Staff

 

Sharen Cypress, Ed.D., Associate Professor
Dean of the College of Education and Behavioral Sciences

GC 03d
731-989-6986
scypress@fhu.edu

Amy Downey, Ed.D., Assistant Professor
Chair, Department of Education

GC-03f
731-989-5387
adowney@fhu.edu

Aarek Farmer, Ed.D., Assistant Professor
Academic Director; Director of Ed.D. Program

Bucy Center
731-989-6513
afarmer@fhu.edu

Karen L. Cypress, Ed.D., Associate Professor
Director of Special Education

5565 Shelby Oaks Drive, Memphis, TN
731-989-6511
kcypress@fhu.edu

Stephen Marvin, Ed.D.
Associate Professor of Education

5565 Shelby Oaks Drive, Memphis, TN
731-989-6514
smarvin@fhu.edu

Alesha Northcutt, Ed.D., Assistant Professor
Director of M.A.T. and M.Ed. (Curriculum & Instruction) Programs

GC-01c
731-989-6077
anorthcutt@fhu.edu

Leah Shull, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

GC-02f
731-989-6126
lshull@fhu.edu

Jill Jackson
Licensure Officer & Graduate Education Secretary

GC 02
731-989-6082
jjackson@fhu.edu

Sandra Hudley
Administrative Assistant

Memphis Graduate Office
731-989-6510
shudley@fhu.edu

Henderson Offices

Freed-Hardeman University
Henderson, TN 38340
Gardner Center, Ground Floor
1-800-348-3481 ext. 6082
Fax: 731-989-6997
grad-ed@fhu.edu

Memphis Office

5565 Shelby Oaks Drive
Memphis, TN 38134
1-800-348-3481 ext. 6510
731-989-6510
Fax: 731-989-6533