News + Events

FHU Presents Academic Awards to Students

Henderson, Tenn. - May 17, 2016

Freed-Hardeman University presented academic awards to 31 students May 5, 2016. Deans and department representatives announced the winners during the school’s daily chapel program.

Dr. Mike Johnson presented awards to the following: Kason Carroll, Outstanding Student in the Calculus Sequence; Alex Beck, Outstanding Rookie Programmer; Hannah Kelley, Outstanding Graduate in Mathematics; and Tyler Estes, Outstanding Graduate in Computer Science.

Department of Behavioral Science and Criminal Justice Awards, presented by Lisa Beene, went to these students: Michelle O’Neill, Outstanding Graduate in Criminal Justice; Lydia Edlin, Outstanding Graduate in FamilyStudies; Courtney Gaines, Outstanding Graduate in Psychology; and Emily Galloway, Outstanding Graduate in Social Work.

Nursing departmental awards, presented by Dr. Chris White, went to Haylee Trull, Nightingale Award; Will Cobb, Servant’s Heart Award; and Sara Muse, Spirit of Job Award.

Dr. Billy Smith, dean of the School of Biblical Studies, presented two awards. Austin Oakley received the Baker Book House Award for having the highest grade point average. Harrison Chastain received the Jack P. Lewis Award.

Corey Markum presented the Jodi Novodoff Award for the top history student to Audrey Abel.

College of Business Dean Mark Steiner announced six award recipients. They were: Amber Pippin, Outstanding Graduate in Accounting; Kellen Beard, Jim Edmonds Student Achievement Award; Tanner Hoffman, Outstanding Graduate in Finance; Chelsea Foster, Outstanding Graduate in Marketing; Demetria Walker, Outstanding Graduate in Management; and Richard Law, ACBSP Outstanding Student Leadership Award.

Three graduating students in biological, physical and human sciences were recognized by Dr. Brian Butterfield. They were: Sophia Fornbacher, Outstanding Graduate in Human Science; Jordan Newby, Outstanding Graduate in Biology; and Darren Heintzman, Outstanding Research Student.

Two students, Caroline Wright and Hannah Griffin, were named Outstanding Students in Spanish by Rhonda Thompson, assistant professor of Spanish.

Dr. Jeff Cozzens presented awards to four distinguished graduate students: Michael Joiner, Outstanding Aspiring Instructional Leader; Steven Marise, Outstanding Master’s Thesis; Colette Carrabba, Outstanding Administrative Internship; and Jill Davis, Outstanding Aspiring School Leader.

Three students from the Department of Communication and Literature were recognized by Dr. Derrick Spradlin. They were: Abby Besson, Outstanding Student in Public Relations; Michaela Craft, Outstanding Student in Journalism; and Emily Mason Baker, Outstanding Student in English.