News + Events

FHU Presents Awards for Academic Achievement

Henderson, Tennessee - May 07, 2018

Freed-Hardeman University recognized students for their academic achievement at its annual awards day April 26, 2018.


The Department of Mathematics and Computer Science presented four awards to the following students: Rookie Programmer and Outstanding Freshman in the Calculus Sequence, Ethan Wilkins of Ft. Belvoir, Virginia; Outstanding Mathematics Graduate, Micah Hollamon of Henderson; and Outstanding Computer Science Graduate, Andrew Hinson of Clemmons, North Carolina.

Four students were recognized by the Department of Behavioral Sciences. They were: Outstanding Graduate in Family Studies, Megan Swearingen of Orlinda, Tennessee; Outstanding Graduate in Criminal Justice, Dillon Tucker, of Portland, Tennessee; Outstanding Graduate in Psychology, Alex Britt of Lebanon, Tennessee; and Outstanding Graduate in Social Work, Conner Futrell of Hoover, Alabama.

The Baker Book House Award, presented to the top graduate in the College of Biblical Studies, went to Kenneth Moody of Murfreesboro, Tennessee. In addition, Blaine McKinney from Bem, Missouri, received the Missions Emphasis Award and Joshua Dykes, freshman Bible major from Trussville, Alabama, received the Rhoden Presnell Personal Evangelism Award.

Four students were honored for their work in the sciences: Outstanding Chemistry Graduate, Brooke Pace of Evans, Georgia; Outstanding Kinesiology Graduates, Anna Young of Columbia, Tennessee, and Justin Morris of Lexington, Tennessee; and Outstanding Biology Graduate and Outstanding Research Student, Kaiti Tice of Columbia, Tennessee.

The College of Business recognized six students for their work: Top Accounting Graduate, Griffin Siebert of Cape Girardeau, Missouri; Top Marketing Graduate, Kyle Douglas of Manchester, Tennessee; Top Finance Graduate, Haley Swearingen of Orlinda, Tennessee; Top Management Graduate, Leila Matheny of Mount Juliet, Tennessee; ACBSP Student Leadership Award, Alex Britt of Lebanon, Missouri; and Jim Edmonds Student Achievement Award, Justin Morris of Terry, Mississippi.

The following awards were presented to outstanding students in graphic design and photography: Outstanding Graphic Designer, Alex Lewis of Sparta, Tennessee; Outstanding Senior Photographer, Alanna Wallace of Edmond, Oklahoma; Newcomer of the Year, Jacob Shelton of Jackson, Tennessee; and Photographer of the Year, Casey Gower of Springfield, Tennessee.

Outstanding students in English and communication were also honored. These included the following: Outstanding English Majors, Brittany Hayes of Nashville, and Abby Dickson of Gadsden, Alabama; Outstanding Student in Public Relations, Baylie Farris of Columbia, Tennessee; and Outstanding Student in Communication, Sutherland Shrader, also of Columbia, Tennessee.

Brooke Pace from Evans, Georgia, was named the Outstanding Spanish Student and the Jodie Novadoff Award for the Outstanding History Student went to Harli Burns from Summertown, Tennessee.

The Department of Nursing presented awards to three students: Spirit of Job, Shelby Joyner of Valdosta, Georgia; Servant’s Heart, Becca Anderson of Knoxville, Tennessee; and Nightingale, Eden Clouse of Jackson, Tennessee.

Winners of the annual poetry contest were also announced. They were: 1st place, Jewell Holland of Rankin, Michigan; 2nd place, Hannah Davis of Lake Cormorant, Mississippi; 3rd place, Amelia Beames of Paducah, Kentucky; and honorable mention, Megan Breece of Lyles, Tennessee, and Kendall Hardison of Columbia, Tennessee.